Andy Jordan's Bicycle Warehouse
M-F 10a-6p
Sat 10a-4p

Store Location
VisaMasterCardAmerican ExpressDiscover

The Canal Crown 2017


Thank you to everyone for coming out to round 2 last night!  We got a lot of rain, but the trail handled it well.  A big shout out to Banks and the team that cleared the monster that fell on the trail yesterday afternoon.  We wouldn't have been able to race without your help.  Times are posted below and some blurry, out of focus pics will be online later today. 
Everyone has one more chance at each direction to compete for the overall standings.  We've officially gone to 3 men's classes, 2 women's classes, and 1 youth class.  The Specialized Equipment dollars will be distributed amongst the top riders in each of those classes at the series end party on June 10th (unless we have to postpone a round).  All volunteers and racers are invited to the awards gala, so put the date on your calendar.  As we approach the end of the series, we'll be asking you to RSVP via email so we have plenty of food and drinks for all.  Thanks again for coming out to support some local MTB racing and we hope everyone had a lot of fun! 

05-25-2017 11:00am
As of this moment in time, round 2 is on!  Our trail scout checked the tread and cleared the path giving tonight's race the go ahead, as long as we don't get hit with another storm.  The trail needs some tires on it so encourage anyone that's going for a ride to hit the Canal Singletrack.  If anyone rides the trail and comes across a tree down that you can not move by hand, please let us know asap.  Stay tuned here for all race updates.  Fingers crossed we'll see everyone tonight. 
Don't forget to BRING EXACT CHANGE IN THE FORM OF CASH ONLY.  Pre-registration begins promptly at 6:30pm at the main trailhead or register at AJBW by 5:00pm.
Expert classes will go off at 7:00pm.

9th Annual

Thursday Night Throwdowns!
May 18 & 25, June 1 & 8
Series end Awards Party - June 10

Brought to you by:


It's time for some local, grassroots-style MTB racing at the
9th Annual Canal Crown MTB Time Trial Series!

Whether you're a seasoned MTBer or just getting started, this event is a good time guaranteed.  This race series is all about having some fun with friends on your bike in the woods.
Who will be crowned the King and Queen of the Canal Singletrack
It could be you!
Race Format
Racers will be sent off in 10 to 20 second intervals, fastest riders first to minimize passing, for one lap (including up/down the stairs).  Each racer has the option to race 2 Clockwise and 2 Counter-Clockwise races with their slowest times being dropped.  Timing will be done by SORBA-CSRA.  To compete for the overall series awards, and to join the series-end party, you must race at least 1 Clockwise and 1 Counter-Clockwise race.  Race direction will be based upon the race date unless we're making up a rain date.  If there's enough rain before a race that damage to the trail could be caused, it will be announced here and will be postponed until the next Saturday.  All results from each race will be posted here.  Overall results will be announced at the series-end party.

$5 per race for IMBA-SORBA members (please bring proof of membership), $8 per race for non-members.
Entry fees will be used to pay for the awards party and trophies at the end of the series. Any net funds will be saved for trail improvement projects.  Feel free to stop by AJBW to pre-register for the race.

Sign up for an IMBA-SORBA membership ($35/year) at the race and race all four races for FREE!  By joining IMBA-SORBA you'll support local MTB advocacy and trail maintenance efforts.  We will have membership forms on hand at each race and at the store.

Registration will start at 6:30pm at the main trailhead. 
The first racer will be sent off at 7:00pm

If time is an issue, feel free to stop by the store to pre-register for each race, or the full series, by 5pm.
  You can also sign up for a SORBA-CSRA Membership at the store too.

The closest parking area is Eisenhower Park.  Other options are the new Lake Olmstead trailhead, the KROC Center/Mill Village trailhead, and AJBW (this will give you a little warm up ride).

Classes are Novice, Sport, Expert, Novice Women, Sport Women (new class, but we need 3 racers to make the class), and Expert Women.  It's up to you to choose the class you feel most comfortable racing in.  Not sure where you fit in?  Look at the times from previous years below.  To make sure each class is represented fairly and to keep things competitive, we reserve the right to move you up, or down, a class.

"Trophies" will be awarded to the top 3 racers in each class at each race. 
The top 3 overall in each class will receive custom made, one of a kind trophies at the series end party. 
$900 in SPECIALIZED equipment of the winner's choice will be distributed amongst first place in each category.

Series End Party
The party will be held at AJBW Saturday, June 10th at 6pm. 
All racers and volunteers are invited, please RSVP via email.


Round 2 - Clockwise 05/25/2017 - Damp Slick Conditions

701 Rockwell Elser 15:45.3
703 Walker Cely 16:07.4

Women's Novice
603 Jackie Donaldson 14:26.1
601 Kenia Alvarez 14:58.0
602 Shannon Elias 15:24.4

Women's Expert
401 Kim Jordan 12:49.7
404 Cynthia Altman 13:47.8

303 Alex Deal 14:07.3
305 Kent Moore 14:34.2
304 Steven Rooyakkers 14:42.0
306 Christian Kurilko 15:17.2

216 Chad Kimbrell 11:46.0
223 Brian Lusher 11:50.3
220 Scott Johnson 11:50.6
219 Brandon Steger 11:58.8
217 Banks Mumford 12:02.9
215 CB Hartness 12:09.2
210 Matt Burghardt 12:12.9
209 Russ Thomas 12:14.0
222 Nick Daniel 12:31.5
201 Ed Elser 12:33.6
208 Darren Altman 12:50.0
221 Keith Murphy 13:05.3
211 John Pilcher 13:26.1
204 Tim West 13:34.2
203 Bobby Clark 13:41.1
206 Zach McIntire 13:53.1

102 Dustin White 10:05.0 - Click here for Dustin's Canal Crown race report
104 Jamie Babcock 10:09.7
103 Josh Jackson 10:33.2
101 Nate Zukas 10:44.3
108 Sean McClure 10:50.6
109 Chuck Norris, Jr 11:16.5
107 Tim Barrett 11:20.7
111 Gabe Kornick 11:26.7
110 Troy West 11:54.2

Round 1 - Counter-Clockwise 05/18/2017 - Dry Slick Conditions

1 701 Rockwell Elser 13:59.1
2 703 Walker Cely 14:47.8
3 702 Adam Lippe 14:53.5

Women's Novice
1 601 Kenia Alvarez 13:45.5
2 602 Shannon Elias 14:33.1

Women's Sport
1 502 Cynthia Altman 12:37.9 - Expert Class Round 2
2 503 Christina Merryman 12:54.0 - Expert Class Round 2
3 501 Jackie Donaldson 14:12.7 - Novice Class Round 2

Women's Expert
1 401 Kim Jordan 11:56.5
2 402 Natasha Horton 12:11.1
3 403 Stacey Williamson 12:27.4

1 302 Nick Daniel 11:57.1 - Sport Class Round 2
2 301 Jeff Lippe 14:52.8

1 218 Gabe Kornick 10:46.7 - Expert Class Round 2
2 205 Troy West 10:50.8 - Expert Class Round 2
3 216 Chad Kimbrell 11:05.3
4 215 CB Hartness 11:13.9
5 217 Banks Mumford 11:14.6
6 209 Russ Thomas 11:23.7
7 210 Matt Burghardt 11:36.4
8 202 Greig McCully 11:43.3
9 208 Darren Altman 11:55.7
10 201 Ed Elser 12:11.0
11 213 Bryce Payne 12:14.8
12 204 Tim West 12:18.1
13 206 Zach McIntire 12:31.0
14 211 John Pilcher 12:36.5
15 207 Chris Miller 12:36.7
16 203 Bobby Clark 12:38.8
17 214 Taylor Harris 13:01.4
18 212 Jamie Morris 13:53.4

1 102 Dustin White 09:40.2 - CCW Course Record
2 104 Jamie Babcock 09:50.7
3 103 Josh Jackson 10:02.6
4 108 Sean McClure 10:08.7
5 101 Nate Zukas 10:24.0
6 109 Chuck Norris Jr 10:35.4
7 107 Tim Barrett 10:44.7
8 105 Chris Shargay 10:46.3
9 106 Brian Lusher 11:01.3